Minutes Approved on May 27, 2015

TOWN OF ALGOMA WINNEBAGO COUNTY, WISCONSIN AGENDA FOR PARKS COMMITTEE MEETING

Wednesday, March 25, 2015 at 6:30 p.m. 15 N. Oakwood Road, Oshkosh, WI 54904

The Parks Committee was called to order at 6:35 p.m. by Chair Timm.

The following Committee Members were present: Kristine Timm, Dewey Nelson, Curt Clark, Joel Rasmussen and Mary Koch.

The following were also present: Town Administrator John Haese and Contracted Fundraiser Vicki Schorse.

No one spoke during the public forum.

On a motion by Members Rasmussen/Nelson, passed on a voice vote, the Committee approved the minutes of the January 28, 2015 meeting.

The Parks Committee supports the Town's Planning Grant Application. The funds from the grant will assist with reducing urban non-point source pollution and enhancing surface water quality.

On a motion by Members Rasmussen/Clark, passed on a voice vote, the Committee approved the Town's Planning Grant Application.

Town Administrator John Haese discussed receiving maps from County GIS to lay out the locations of trail easements and parks. Maps will be available from the County soon. Administrator Haese reported that Winnebago County Parks Director Rob Way would like to work with the Town to help locate trails that could connect with the county trail system.

The Committee discussed the removal of buckthorn from Jones Park. The Town Administrator will talk to the Treasurer on funding. Buckthorn needs to be identified, trees need to be identified and then the buckthorn needs to be eradicated.

Vicki Schorse discussed the ongoing fundraising effort for Jones Park. The feasibility study is almost completed and will provide the Committee with a report at the next meeting. A consultant needs to be contracted to provide new illustrations of Jones Park that includes all of the amenities. Vicki anticipates having a funding goal of \$350,000 to \$400,000. An update will be given to the Committee at the April meeting.

On a motion by Members Rasmussen/Nelson, carried on a voice vote, the Committee adjourned at 7:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Heather Sedo Administrative Assistant

Recording Secretary- John Haese