TOWN OF ALGOMA WINNEBAGO COUNTY, WISCONSIN

March 15, 2023

The monthly Town Board meeting was called to order by Chairman Rasmussen at 6:00 p.m.

The following Supervisors were present: Daniel Martin and Teresa Van Aacken.

Supervisors Petey Clark and Michael Brooks were excused.

The following were also present: Administrator Rich Heath, Treasurer Sue Drexler, and Clerk Katherine Reinbold.

It was noted that the agenda was posted in three places on March 10, 2023.

On a motion by Supervisors Van Aacken/Martin, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the minutes of the Monthly Town Board Meeting dated February 15, 2023.

On a motion by Supervisors Van Aacken/Martin, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the March 2023 disbursements.

Tricia Rathermel, President and CEO of Greater Oshkosh Economic Development Corporation reported that Winnebago County accepted the planning grant for broadband. The grant will help assist in finding and filling the gaps throughout the county that currently do not have access to high-speed internet. The Oshkosh Area School District is also starting a School to Work program.

Chief Sawicki presented the Fire Department's February report. Some items noted in the report included several fire fighters attended a conference in Green Bay; WisDOT is scheduled to inspect their trucks; plans are being made to submit a grant application to Firehouse Subs for additional equipment; and two new firefighters have been added to the department. The Fire Department is planning for an open house on May 20th.

The Economic Development Committee did not meet.

The Planning Commission met on March 8, 2023. They reviewed the proposed CSM for Todd and Lisa Kaull. Todd Kaull was in attendance at the meeting to answer questions about the CSM. The commission does not have any concerns with the CSM and is recommending approval by the Town Board.

The Parks Committee did not meet.

Chairman Rasmussen spoke about Winnebago County's plan to distribute a portion of their allocated ARPA funds. A county committee recommended giving \$145,000 to each municipality in Winnebago County.

The request for awarding each municipality a portion of the County's ARPA funding will be on the next County Board meeting agenda.

Clerk Reinbold mentioned the in-person absentee voting dates are March 21-23 from 9:30 am - 1pm; March 27-30 from 1 pm - 4:30 pm; and March 31 from 11 am - 5 pm. The election will be April 4, 2023, and it is the last one for 2023.

The monthly financial statements were presented. Treasurer Drexler noted that the Jones Park loan was paid off today, March 15, 2023.

Administrator Rich Heath reported that two applications were received for the Treasurer position; one individual declined an interview, and the second applicant was interviewed and then declined to move on in the hiring process. The Town is required to complete, approve, and submit its annual Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Report to the WDNR by March 31, 2023. The WDNR has funding available for updating of stormwater plans, ordinances, etc. With this grant, the Town would update its *2018 Stormwater Management Plan*. There are two resolutions that need to be passed as part of the grant application, which is due April 17th. With the approval of BIL funding for the reconstruction of Leonard point Road, the next step is to approve the enclosed design agreement with McMahon Associates. Leonard Point Road will have the same urban design as Omro Road.

On a motion by Supervisors Martin/Van Aacken, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the General Merchant license for Pickett Produce.

On a motion by Supervisor Martin/Chairman Rasmussen, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved an increase in the fee for a Soda Water license to \$20.

On a motion by Supervisors Martin/Van Aacken, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the Disclosure, Consent to Representation and Waiver of Potential Conflict of Interest re: LT Kaull Holdings, LLC, Todd and Lisa Kaull and Attorney Emily Z. Dunham.

On a motion by Supervisors Van Aacken/Martin, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the Certified Survey map for Parcels 002-0642, 002-0643, 002-0644, 002-0646, 002-0031, and 002-0034 for property owners Todd J. and Lisa A. Kaull, LT Kaull Holdings, LLC, and Oakwood Improvement Association Contingent Upon Discontinuance of the Small Roadway Extending North from Oakwood Lane.

Administrator Heath gave a presentation on the 2022 MS4 Annual Report. On a motion by Supervisors Martin/Van Aacken, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the 2022 MS4 Annual Report.

Phil Kleman, from McMahon Associates, explained the two resolutions that need to be approved for submission of the WDNR Planning Grant, a brief overview of the activities to be addressed under the grant, and the timeline for the awarding of the grant. On a motion by Supervisors Martin/Van Aacken, the Board approved Resolution 2023-2 Urban non-Point Source & Stormwater Grant Program and Resolution 2023-3 Urban Non-Point Source & Stormwater Planning Grant.

On a motion by Supervisors Van Aacken/Martin, passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the McMahon Associates Proposal to Design Leonard Point Road. Construction is scheduled to happened in 2026, and a number of public outreach activities will be scheduled with the residents living on Leonard Point Road and the public as a whole.

On a motion by Supervisors Van Aacken/Martin, passed on a roll call vote (Martin-Yes, Rasmussen-Yes, and Van Aacken-Yes), the Board entered into closed session Pursuant to WI Statutes 19.85(1)(g): Conferring with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved: Re: Past compensation of personnel and Conferring with legal counsel for the governmental body who is rendering oral or written advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the body with respect to litigation in which it is or is likely to become involved: Sewer extension denial by City of Oshkosh to Algoma Sanitary District.

On a motion by Chairman Rasmussen/Supervisor Martin, passed on a roll call vote (Martin-Yes, Rasmussen-Yes, and Van Aacken-Yes), the Board reconvened in open session.

On a motion by Supervisors Martin/Van Aacken, passed on a voice vote, the Board adjourned at 8:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Katherine Reinbold